“I remember…”

I remember going out to play,

I remember it being late in the day,

I remember being called inside,

I remember they had something to hide.

I remember watching the screen,

I remember it being an awful scene.

I remember not understanding

But I remember that the towers were no longer standing.

I remember it all being so far away,

I remember it being just another day.

I remember getting older,

I remember the world going colder,

I remember people starting a war,

I remember wondering whatever for

I remember mentions of terrorist attacks

I remember finally understanding the facts,

I remember crying until my eyes were red

I remember watching film after film who exploited the dead,

I remember going to the place it all happened,

I remember it being in a  place called Manhattan,

I remember feeling cold and empty inside,

I remember feeling sorrow for those who had died. 

I remember never wanting to go there again,

I remember my parents want to go again,

I remember saying no. 

I remember refusing to go.

I remember growing up a little sensitive,

I remember being a little defensive

I remember when they caught the man,

I remember they killed him in Pakistan,

I remember New York dancing with glee

I remember thinking whats wrong with me.

I remember not being happy, but full of dismay,

I remember thinking are we just as bad as they.

Leave a Reply

