Guns Go Bang..Part 2

Monday.

“I can’t believe that our senior year has almost come to an end! In a few months we’ll all be going off to College. I can’t wait.”

I chuckled but cringed at the high pitched squeak that came out of Bebe’s mouth. You had to humor the girl but she was in desperate need of a volume control.

“I know, I’m going to miss you guys so much!” Jack said, throwing his arm around my shoulders. Since we broke up, well I broke up with him, we decided to remain friends. We wanted to make sure that there was no tension between us before we all left for College. The sad thing was, that we still both loved each other.

“Are you losers coming to our last game?” Zach said running up behind us. Our boys were all star athletes, on the football team in the fall and on the baseball team in the spring. Jack was a pitcher and captain of the team…funnily enough he was the starting quarter back on the football team. Zach was the shortstop but Jack’s substitute. 

“Of course we’ll be there; I’m cheering for the last time with the team.” Bebe said, pretending to whip a tear away from her cheek. We all knew she hated cheerleading but she’s the only girl out of five children, with four older brothers. Her mom was so excited to finally have a girl, she pushed Bebe to do everything a girl could possibly do. 

“You’re coming right?” Jack said, looking down at me with his big puppy eyes. 

“Of course I am.” I said with a small smile. We shared a look before he leaned down and kissed me on the cheek. 

“We’ve got practice now but we’ll see you guys later?”

Bebe and myself nodded. We were all suppose to meet up for dinner later. Jack gave me a quick wink before he ran after Zach to practice. 

“I don’t know why you two broke up.” Bebe said as we made our way out to the parking lot. 

“He’s moving to the other side of the country for his football and I’m staying here. I would rather we ended on good terms so when he comes home for the holidays we can be friendly, than things become complicated with a long distance relationship.”

Bebe pulled on my arm, stopping me in the middle of the car park. 

“He would never cheat on you, you know that right?” She asked, her hand resting on my forearm. 

“I don’t want to talk about this B.” I said shrugging her off and walking to my car.

“You should just talk to him Luz.” Bebe said walking after me.

“I’ll see you later B.” I said getting into my car. I started the engine and was about to drive away when B appeared at my window. When I tired to ignore her, she began knocking. With a sigh, I rolled down the window.

“We’ve got four more days of school and then only a few weeks before he goes off to football camp. Make the most of it and then trust him to be faithful. You two have been together since freshman year. Don’t go and throw all that away.”

I rolled my eyes and scoffed under my breath. Bebe was always a hopeless romantic. But real life just wasn’t like that.

“I’ll think about it.” I said to appease her.

“Okay.” She said turning to leave. “Oh and can you pick me up later?”

 

“How was practice?” Bryan asked as we all sat around the table. We had all convened for our weekly and most likely our last dinner together. 

“It was good. The teams ready for the game on Friday.” Jack said, swirling the straw in his drink. His head was down and he was staring at the table and I knew something was wrong. 

“And we’re going to WIN!” Zach said banging on the table. It was funny how much of a meat head he actually was. Once he had finally stopped shouting the school chant, Sally, our regular waitress came over to the table.

“I’m going to miss you kids so much.” She said as she whipped out her pad. “Do you all want your usual?” She asked, her voice cracking slightly at the end. 

“Defiantly Sally, we wouldn’t want to break tradition now would we?” I said teasingly, trying to dry her watery eyes. 

“I’ll just go put your orders in.” She said hurrying off, pulling a hanky out of her apron. 

“So this is like our last meal together.” Zach said, leaning back in his chair. 

“I guess so.” Bebe said as the table fell silent. Jack’s arm reached around and rested on the back on my chair where his fingers began to fiddle with my hair. It was a nervous habit of his…well when we were still together. 

“So Jack, are you ready for the big move?” Abby asked from across the table. Jack threw himself out of his seat and stormed out of the diner. Bryan moved to go after him but I stopped him.

“I’ll go talk to him.” I said standing up.
Walking out go the diner, I found Jack pacing back and fourth, pulling on his hair. 

“Jack what’s going on?” I asked, crossing my arms in front of my chest. He continued to pace before turning and looking at me. Storming towards me, he grabbed my face forcefully between his heads and pressed his lips to mine. I felt how desperate he was, grabbing at me and it brought tears to my eyes. He pulled away and rested his forehead against mine. He sniffed and took a deep breath, rubbing my cheeks with the pads of his thumbs, all with his eyes closed.

“I don’t want to leave you.” He whispered, his warm breath fanning over my face, opening his eyes. 

“I know.” I sighed.

He grumbled, pulling away and began pacing again.

“Why did we break up again?” He asked, his voice raising. “Do you know how hard it is to be around you and not be able to show you how much I love you?” He was starting to get hysterical, pulling harder on his hair.

“You know why Jack.” I whispered.

“No, I really don’t. You says its because I’m going away and this long distance thing would be too complicated but I think it’s something else.”

“Jack…”

“No Luz, tell me.”

I looked into his eyes and he looked so desperate for me to say something but I just couldn’t.

“I’m sorry.” I said stepping away.

“Luz…”

I ignored the pain in his voice and practically ran back into the diner. I picked up my bag, getting ready to run out of there when Jack walked back in. Everyone looked between us like something was about to happen. Jack walked over to where I was standing and pushed me down into my seat.

“Sorry about that.” He said, sitting down next to me. “I didn’t mean to ruin our last dinner together.”

Everyone remained silent, unsure whether to ask about what went on outside. I was moments from breaking down but if Jack could put on a brave face, then so could I.

One thought on “Guns Go Bang..Part 2

Leave a Reply

