Monday’s (Theatrical Script)

ACT I

Scene 1

Sally, an average high school student, sits center stage on a chair with a spot light on her. She’s looking straight out into the audience. Voices from stage right and stage left start as a whisper and slowly rise to a shout.

BRYAN + JESSICA

Why did you do it? How could you? I don’t understand. Why you?

PROFESSOR PARK

You were so good. So bright. You had your whole life ahead of you.

MR BROWN

Not my sweet little girl. Never you. I don’t believe it. Never you.

MRS BROWN

I should have never left you with your father. It’s all my fault. I’ve destroyed you.

B, J, PP, MrB, MrsB all start off at stage right and left, slowly moving forward as they get louder, until they are circling Sally. After the final shout of ‘You’ the scene blacks out.

Scene 2

Sally is standing in the middle of the stage with a piece of white paper that says Friday.

Blackout.

The stage is plain, set up to look like a classroom, only with chairs facing stage left. Bryan, Jessica and Sally are sat in the row closest to the audience.

PROFESSOR PARK

So I expect the assignment due first thing next week so make sure you work on it over the weekend. Have a good one.

The students rise from their chairs, and walk off stage, taking their chairs with them. Bryan, Jessica and Sally step forward.

Jessica

So I hear everyone is going to the park tonight. Are you guys in?

BRYAN

Yeah, I’m totally up for going out? What about you Sal?

SALLY

I don’t know.

BRYAN

Come on. You never come out anymore. I’ll even come pick you up.

SALLY

I know. It’s just, ever since the divorce, I feel bad for leaving my dad home alone.

JESSICA

I’m sure he won’t mind.

SALLY

I’ll think about it.

Bryan leaves stage right and Jessica leaves stage left.

Scene 3

Sally is sat at a table drawing on a piece of paper. Off stage a door slams and Sally jumps but continues to draw. Mr Brown comes on stage left.

MR BROWN

There she is! There’s my girl. How was your day?

Mr Brown walks over to Sally and affectionately touches her hair. Sally doesn’t look up from her drawing.

SALLY

It was okay dad.

MR Brown nods, his breathing becoming heavier. His hand slips down to the back of Sally’s next and grips it tight. Sally cried out softly.

MR BROWN

Look at me when I’m talking to you honey.

SALLY

I’m sorry.

Mr Brown sighs, letting go of Sally’s neck. He sits down next to Sally at the table.

MR BROWN

I’m sorry honey. I’ve had a bad day at work.

SALLY

It’s okay dad.

MR BROWN

So, do you have any plans tonight?

SALLY

No, I thought I would stay home with you.

Sally reaches over and puts her hand on top of Mr Brown’s.

MR BROWN

It’s okay baby. You go out with your friends. I’m just going to head to bed early.

SALLY

Are you sure?

MR BROWN

Positive.

SALLY

Thanks Dad.

Sally leans over and kisses Mr Browns cheek.

Scene 4

Sally, Bryan and Jessica are sat on the floor. There is no telling where they are due to the lack of set. They are smoking weed, casually passing the blunt between them.

BRYAN

I can’t believe you actually came out tonight.

SALLY

Yeah, well my dad said I should get out.

JESSICA

It’s about time too.

They fall silent. Jessica sways to an unheard beat while Bryan starts playing with Sally’s hair.

JESSICA

I really need to pee.

Jessica gets up and leaves off stage. Bryan turns to face Sally directly, staring at her, while shes looking off. She notices Bryan staring.

SALLY

What?

Bryan leans forward and they kiss. Bryan goes to deepen the kiss and Sally pushes him away.

SALLY

I’m sorry.

BRYAN

What’s the matter with you?

SALLY

Nothing

Bryan moves forward to kiss her again. Sally moves back.

BRYAN

What the hell is wrong with you.

SALLY

Nothing, I don’t…

Bryan grabs Sally’s face.

BRYAN

I know you want this.

SALLY

I don’t. I’m sorry.

Bryan becomes obiviously furious. He grabs Sally by the neck and pushes her to the floor. He climbs on top of her as Sally begins to scream. He unbuttons her shorts. He goes to undo his own pants. Sally squirms, Bryan pushes her onto her back. He pulls her shorts down. Sally continues to scream. Blackout. Action can still be heard. Sally cries out and Bryan begins to grunt. Sound fades off.

Scene 5

Sally is standing in the middle of the stage with a piece of white paper that says Saturday.

Blackout.

Lights up on the same setting as scene 3. Sally is sat at the table looking rough. She is in the same clothes as the previous scene. Her eyes are red and hair is messy.

Mr. Brown enters.

MR BROWN

Hey Baby!

He kisses her head.

MR BROWN

Did you have a nice time with your friends last night?

Sally continues to stare at the audience.

Mr Brown’s hand slams down on the table.

MR BROWN

SALLY!

Sally jolts, as if been woken up.

SALLY

Uh, yeah. I had a great time. (Pause) I’m going to shower.

Sally goes to walk off stage. Mr Brown comes up being her.

MR BROWN

I wouldn’t bother. Not yet.

Mr Brown pats Sally’s bum and walks off with a smile. Sally stays standing.

Blackout.

Scene 6

Sally is standing in the middle of the stage with a piece of white paper that says Sunday.

Blackout.

Sally is sat in the middle of the stage with headphones on. “I don’t like Monday’s” can be heard playing. She nods along with the music.

Scene 7

Stage is Black. Sally can be heard saying the word “Monday.”

This is followed by a series of gun fires from a shot gun, with the cock after each one.

Lights up.

The stage is set up like scene 2. Sally is standing upstage with her fingers in a gun shape. The rest of the class is slumped over in their seats, along with Bryan, Sally and Professor Park.

Scene 8

Sally, an average high school student, sits center stage on a chair with a spot light on her. She’s looking straight out into the audience. Voices from stage right and stage left start as a whisper and slowly rise to a shout.

BRYAN + JESSICA

Why did you do it? How could you? I don’t understand. Why you?

PROFESSOR PARK

You were so good. So bright. You had your whole life ahead of you.

MR BROWN

Not my sweet little girl. Never you. I don’t believe it. Never you.

MRS BROWN

I should have never left you with your father. It’s all my fault. I’ve destroyed you.

B, J, PP, MrB, MrsB all start off at stage right and left, slowly moving forward as they get louder, until they are circling Sally. After the final shout of ‘You’ there is a pause.

SALLY

I don’t like Monday’s.

Black out.

END

Leave a Reply

